Jury for the 2019 APEX awards announced

Drawn from strategy, digital, creative, research, media, marketing as well as agency heads, the 2019 APEX award adjudication panel consists of highly regarded individuals and industry trail blazers. The group is tasked with the significant responsibility of combing through entries to identify and award the ‘work that works’.

Since inception by the ACA in 1995, the APEX Award has been the profession’s highest – and only – award for communications campaign performance excellence in an industry that is constantly refining and redefining creativity. The jury will be screening entries for campaigns that rose above the clutter, had extensive reach and communicated via mediums that delivered on campaign objectives. The rigorous adjudication process spans three rounds during which submissions are judged against specific criteria including rigour, degree of difficulty, clarity of evidence, compelling case, and insight.

“Winning an APEX award delivers evidence of the profession’s contribution to business success. It reinforces the value we provide as an industry and affirms our contribution within the context of the broader economy. This heavyweight adjudication panel is entrusted with identifying and bringing to the fore those campaigns that truly delivered on brand objectives and impacted the bottom line,” says Mathe Okaba, CEO of the Association of Communications and Advertising (ACA)   

Apart from being an essential business tool that affixes value to credentials for agencies, marketers and leading brands, winning an APEX award is a definitive demonstration that great ideas generate great results.  APEX recognises the creative work that worked; the campaigns that manifested effectiveness in creativity that extends beyond words and pictures to creative intellect and intellectual property that is the currency of the profession.

The 2019 APEX awards is proudly hosted by the ACA with Key Partner Provantage Media Group and sponsors Kantar and Vodacom.

The 2019 APEX awards jury:




Ivan Moroke Chief Executive Officer Kantar, Insights Division
Gareth Leck Group Chief Executive Officer Joe Public United
Mathe Okaba Chief Executive Officer ACA
Ana Carrapichano Group Managing Director Mediology
Daniel Naidoo Director Gendel Interactive
Fran Luckin Executive Creative Director Grey SA
Ismail Jooma Head of Strategy VML
Jason Harrison Managing Director M&C Saatchi Abel
Kagiso Musi Group Managing Director Meta Media
Katlego Moutlana Head of Strategy Mortimer Harvey
Leigh Tayler Strategic Director Joe Public United
Lwandile Qokweni Chief Strategic Officer MEC Global
Mick Blore Chief Executive Officer Wolves
Natalie Botha Creative Development Director Kantar, Insights Division
Neil Higgs Independent Consultant Retired ex TNS Global
Refilwe Maluleke Managing Director Yellowwood
Roxy Maqache Chief Executive Officer Desert Arabia
Su-Lise Tessendorf General Manager: Brand, Strat & Comms Nando’s
Thabang Skwambane Managing Director FCB, Johannesburg
Thulani Sibeko Chief Marketing Officer Standard Bank
Tlalane Ntuli Chief Operations Officer Yalu SA
Zayd Abrahams Executive Head of Marketing (Retail) First Rand Group (FNB,RMB)

Winners will be announced at the APEX awards Gala Dinner to be held at The Venue @ The Houghton Hotel on the 11th July 2019.


Connect with the ACA on Facebook at ACASouthAfrica and on Twitter @ACA_SA for regular updates on #APEXawards2019